Am I an Alien?

6cca7cbd96f78076672d933627a1763e

She had come to confess her love for me today.
I knew I had no choice,
Quickly remembering that life had always been a foul play,
I flashed the words on my mobile’s screen at her,
“I am dumb, I have no voice.”

I was dumb, but not blind.
Not blind to overlook her obvious hesitation.
Suddenly her eyes showed clear denial of any admiration.
“They are not your kind” mamma had once warned,
Not my kind?
Why? Am I an alien?
Why do I always feel left behind?

Why does the world treat me like this?
I ask again, am I an alien?
Am I destined to never feel bliss?
What luck I have…I can’t even complain!
What have I done,
To deserve this life full of pain?

I have no voice but who said I can’t speak!
Can’t you read my eyes?
I am dying on the inside.
Don’t you hear the hurt in my music?
Don’t you see the frustration in my paintings?

I am not dumb…not completely.
I do speak, but a bit differently.
I speak with my eyes and my gestures.
I speak through my music and my canvas.
I am no alien!
I am unique who has his own technique.

Yes, life can be a foul play
But I never wanted your sympathy.
All I ever needed was some humanity.
Thus I sit to write,
To help my folks in their fight.
I must warn – they will try to dim out your light.
There are many who don’t want you to win,
But the ones who notice the storm in your eyes,
The silence in ur voice,
And the heaviness in your heart,
Are the only ones you should ever let in.

5 thoughts on “Am I an Alien?

  1. ‘But the ones who notice the storm in your eyes,
    The silence in ur voice,
    And the heaviness in your heart,
    Are the only ones you should ever let in’

    I love this ending! It really places emphasis on the fact that those people who are true and loyal to you will be the ones who know how you feel – even when you don’t say a single word.

    Thank you for writing this. I look forward to reading what you write next! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave an AWESOME comment.

