The Story of their Life

tumblr_static_9wfqrop3ykw8cg8o0kw4844ocThe Kite Runner. This book was something that changed my perspective on everything in life. I never thought that a book will have such a big impact on me. I just finished it two months ago. I have read hundreds of books in my life. But this one, it’s something different. Though I don’t have the book right now with me, still I go through particular PDFs of the book every night before I sleep.
The story introduced me to a whole new world of Afghan life-their sacrifices,the war, the brotherhood and the “kite fighting tournament.”

“For you, a thousand times over.”

It is a story about friendship,loyalty,betrayal,guilt,brotherhood,redemption, survival and religion too, yeah religion, the relation of Sunnis and Shias.

“When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal a wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. There is no act more wretched than stealing.”

The story of Amir, and his Hazara friend Hassan. The hard choices that comes in front of Amir. I think that the character who tolerates the most pain in this book is Amir. In such a young age, he has to undergo through so many hard decisions. In such a young age, he enters the cruel game of Life. The book doesn’t fail to leave any heart untouched and allows us to recognize the emotions that are hidden inside us.

“I throw my makeshift jai-namaz, my prayer rug, on the floor and I get on my knees, lower my forehead to the ground, my tears soaking through the sheet. I bow to the west. Then I remember I haven’t prayed for over fifteen years. I have long forgotten the words. But it doesn’t matter, I will utter those few words I still remember: La illaha ila Allah, Muhammad u rasul ullah. There’s no God but Allah, and Muhammad is his messenger. I see now that Baba was wrong, there’s a God, there always had been.

The best thing about the book is its sense of fate and justice. Despite all odds, Amir does return to his motherland and makes everything alright. He sees the reflection of Hassan in Sohrab’s face. A “Smile”, a smile was all that sat everything back in its place.

Only a smile.

P.S- I have left the story-telling part incomplete, because I request everyone who haven’t read the book but went through the review to read it. The story-telling will not be possible anyways, cause it will get too long in the telling. 😛

One thought on “The Story of their Life

Leave an AWESOME comment.

