Just Like The Clouds

We both lay in silence; her, counting her beads, me, contemplating if I should get up and type that half-written piece lying in my notebook.

“Let’s go see if Areeb and Abyan want to go to the roof,” she says suddenly. I look at her and get up immediately.

We climb the stairs to the roof. Areeb climbs in front of me. Abyan is in Ammu’s arms. When we get there I look at the sky, because there isn’t much else to look at. It is then that I realize, I’ve never seen anything like this.

Okay, I have. But I don’t remember it.

I stare in silence. In awe. The west skyline is yellowish. Above it is a dark grey. Above the grey, very slight streaks of blue. That might as well be a trick of my eyes. I’ll never know. But I pay more attention to the grey layer. And I see. The clouds are steadily changing their shapes. I feel the wind on my face. The silver lining between each cloud is more than visible. I gaze, captivated by the beauty of it all.

The breeze ruffles my clothes. Areeb runs around looking for pebbles to use with his slingshot. Abyan cackles in Ammu’s arms. The clouds start to move faster. A gust of wind rocks me. I smell wet dirt in the air.

“We better head back. It’s going to rain,” Ammu says.

“But we just got here!” Areeb whines. We head back anyway.

I can’t stop thinking about the clouds, constantly changing and shifting shapes, positions and colors.

I could never pay attention to rain. Not because I didn’t want to. Because I didn’t get the opportunity to.

Now, I do pay attention. Instead of a uniform downpour, it is constantly moving; with the wind. This way and that, now left, now right. I try to focus my eyes, but I can’t follow any single current. It’s maddening, but calming and soothing at the same time too.

Just like the clouds.

I stare out the window in my room. I always wanted to notice things. And I did notice a lot of things. This, though, is the first time I noticed rain in this way.

This is a new beginning.

One thought on “Just Like The Clouds

Leave an AWESOME comment.

